My Top 10 Chick Flicks

Today when I sat down to write this post it was very obvious what I needed to write about. I am one of those girls who has and always will be obsessed with chick flicks. I love them, I always have and most likely always will. I own more chick flicks then I would like to admit and watch them on a pretty regular basis. What can I say I am a sucker for a good romance and a happy ending.

I present you my ultimate top ten chick flicks from a admitted chick flick fan girl. Remember these are my opinions and no one else’s so if you disagree with me sorry. If you totally agree with me then I guess we are new bffs. You are warned if you haven’t seen some of these you may get spoilers. If your expecting a synopsis of the movies your in the wrong spot you better head over to imdb.com.

#1. When Harry Met Sally (1989) 

whenharryMy Favourite Quote “I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible”

This movie is and will always be my favourite movie. I can watch it over and over again. I have made my husband sit through this one more then I could count. It is my go to when I am sick or sad or in some cases just happy. I am a huge Nora Ephron fan (expect posts about her in the near future). I have loved Rob Reiner since I watched Archie Bunker call him a meat head. I could listen to Billy Crystal speak for hours. Honestly I am not the biggest Meg Ryan fan but some of her movies are almost worn out in my dvd collection. I can not say enough good things about this movie. I still tear up when Billy Crystal runs through New York on New Years Eve. If you haven’t already done so I highly suggest you go out and rent this one as soon as possible.

#2. The Notebook (2004)

thenote

My Favourite Quote “I am nothing special, of this I am sure. I am a common man with common thoughts and I’ve led a common life. There are no monuments dedicated to me and my name will soon be forgotten, but I’ve loved another with all my heart and soul, and to me, this has always been enough..”

This was a tough one. I am not going to lie here I did not want to put this movie on my list. Hell, I didn’t want to like this movie when I first saw it. Just like everyone else in the world who has a soul I fell in love with this movie. How can you not fall apart seeing Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams yell it out in the rain. I’m not sure if anyone who didn’t live in Canada ever saw Ryan Gosling as the small nerd on Breaker High during the 90’s if you did you were probably shocked like I was at just how much he had changed. I have a thing for beards but oh my god that man grew into his looks. I now adore Rachel McAdams and watch basically anything she is in (even though she will always be Regina George to me). Surprisingly as much as I love this movie the book itself I found very disappointing. If you haven’t watched it for Ryan Gosling do it for James Garner who is beyond amazing in this movie.

#3. Love Actually (2003) 

billmack

 My Favourite Quote “Even better! Sam, you’ve got nothin’ to lose, and you’ll always regret it if you don’t! I never told your mom enough. I should have told her everyday because she was perfect everyday. You’ve seen the films, kiddo. It ain’t over ’til its over.”

Ever year from the first of December to the first of January I let myself watch this movie more times then I can count. This is my number one Christmas movie. I play it well I wrap presents, decorate the tree and basically anything else Christmas related. (I also have a pretty bad Christmas movie obsession and there will be a post about that in December.) I am obsessed with Andrew Lincoln (Rick Grimes to me) holding up the cards to profess his undying love for Keira Knightly and my heart is literally happy when Sam runs through the airport. I am not ashamed to admit that I walked down the aisle to All You Need Is Love by the Beatles because of my love for this movie at my own wedding. Without fail if you ever come across me in December you will hear my whistling Christmas is All Around by Billy Mack. 

#4. Valentines Day (2010) 

vday

My Favourite Quote “When you love someone, you love all of them… you gotta love everything about them, not just the good things but the bad things too. The things that you find loveable and the things you don’t”

Three years ago my sister and I started a new Valentines Day tradition where we get Valentine’s Day candy and wine and watch this movie. It is my favourite part of the day and something I look forward to. I adore this movie. This was another one I didn’t want to like. I figured it was a big movie studio’s chance to ride off the success of He’s Just Not That Into You and it would end up being terrible. I was very wrong this movie has some incredible story lines. Not all of them are that great but some could seriously be there own movie. I am in love with Ashton Kutcher in this movie and I could not even believe how great Bradley Cooper is in this even though his role is way to small. I am in love with Jennifer Garner after seeing her kick ass with a baseball bat. Can I also just mention this movie has the one and only Taylor Swift in who doesn’t love a little T Swift. If you have some free time on February 14th I suggest taking part in our tradition. 

#5. Sleepless in Seattle (1993) 

sleep

My Favourite Quote “It was a million tiny little things. When you added them all up, it just meant we were supposed to be together” 

If someone says they don’t at lest like Sleepless in Seattle I think they might be lying. Who doesn’t love a good Tom Hanks movie. I am a big fan of the show The Mindy Project so it literally made me so happy to see her talk about how good this movie is on her show. I want to go to New York just so I can go to the top of the Empire State building. Can I just say Rosie O’Donnell is amazing in this movie, love her or hate her she’s got some acting chops. My heart broke well watching the scenes of Tom Hanks talking about his dead wife and I melted when Annie silently cries well she hears him through the radio. This is for sure one I could and would happily watch over and over again.

#6. Notting Hill (1999) 

notting

My Favourite Quote “After all… I’m just a girl, standing in front of a boy, asking him to love her”

This is another one I avoided watching. I put this one on when I found it in a collection of old dvds one day when I was bored. I now love this movie and have my own copy. What person doesn’t imagine they will meet and fall in love with a famous movie store. This movie is my definition of cute and funny. I adore the british Hugh Grant and I love him in this movie. I found his relationship with his room mate hilarious and his love for his travel book store adorable.This movie also makes me really want to go to London. If for nothing else I love this movie just for the amazing line “I’m just a girl standing in front of a boy”. 

#7. P.S. I Love You (2007) 

psiloveyou

My Favourite Quote ” P.S. I love you” 

This movie was one of the first I saw in a theatre that made me want to head right back into line for the next showing after the credits rolled. I had a poster for this movie in my room for at lest two years. The same poster was in a frame in one of the offices I worked in recently and it made me way happier then I would like to admit. This movie made me cry and laugh and in the end made me want to hitch hike to Ireland. A few years ago I went to a convention and stood in line with more then a few Buffy the Vampire Slayer fans to get my dvd copy of the movie signed by James Marsters. When he told me and my sister how great it was working with his pals Gerry and Hillary I was pretty sure security would have to remove me from how hard my jaw hit the ground. All and all this movie is amazing and I could go on and on about it.

#8. He’s Just Not That Into You (2009) 

hes

My Favourite Quote “You’re my exception”

I am a huge Sex and the City fan so naturally I loved the he’s just not that into you episode. I even have a copy of the book so I was pumped to hear they were making a movie based on the book. I liked this movie when I first watched it but this one really grows on me with every viewing. I love love love Ginnifer Goodwin in this movie. Not being a huge Justin Long fan I was pleasantly surprised with him in this movie. Like a million other girls I actually love Ben Affleck and was so excited to see him play a real nice guy and come on his girlfriend is Jennifer Aniston (I was obsessed with their story line). If you haven’t seen this movie I really think you should give this one I chance it is worth some of the more boring story lines (cough cough Kevin Connelly) to get to the really great ones. 

#9. Bridesmaids (2011) 

bridemaids

My Favourite Quote “You smell like pine needles, and have a face like sunshine” 

Before I even saw this movie my sister came home in from a night at the theatre with her friends and told me I would love this movie. I have always been a huge Kristen Wigg fan because of my love for Saturday Night Live. I also have loved Maya Rudolph and Melissa McCarthy, really the whole cast in this movie is crazy good. I saw this in the drive in and cried laughing most of the movie.I still quote lines from it and can not get on a plane without saying “I had a dream last night that we went down. You were in it” I watched this movie on repeat well I put together my own wedding invitations. I will be forever grateful to this movie for my new found love of Wilson Philips and Chris O’Dowd. I am proud to admit Hold On is one of the most played songs on my ipod. 

#10. Clueless (1995)

clueless

My Favourite Quote “I was just totally clueless”

I have loved this movie since I was a kid. I remember sneaking into my brothers room and borrowing a VHS copy of this movie a girl left over for him. I wanted to be Cher Horowitz. What girl wasn’t completely jealous of her digital closet. I wanted to be best friends with a girl named after a larger then life diva. I can still watch this movie and admire their 90’s matching outfits and silently wish I could have pulled that kind of outfit off when I was in high school. I am still a little weirded out that she hooks up with a certain someone (I wont say in case you haven’t seen this yet but you will get it when you do see it). To me this is one of my go to’s and will continue to be I can not get enough of it. I was even on of the few who looked forward to new episodes of the sitcom Clueless, which didn’t last long. If your not into chick flicks just watch it because its a decent 90’s movie and its worth it.

There you go my list of chick flicks. Check back soon for more of my fav lists and let me know what you think.

2 thoughts on “My Top 10 Chick Flicks

Leave a comment